2012 Giant Steps Awards Banquet

The 2012 Giant Steps Awards Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will be held on Thursday, October 18.  At this banquet,  numerous student athletes and other influential individuals in sport are recognized for their academic achievements, their contributions to society and their commitment to effecting positive social change through the power of sport.

The 2012 Hall of Fame inductees are Robert Beamon and Val Ackerman.  Giant Steps Award winners include Civic Leader, Paula Heron; Heroes Among Us, Cayden and Conner Long; Coach, Tom Walter; Community Organization, Swoop’s Stoop: Cody Reichard; Barrier Breaker, Willie O’Ree;  and Courageous Student-Athlete, Drey Mingo.

Previous Hall of Fame inductees have included Muhammad Ali, Eddie Robinson, Dean Smith, Nancy Lieberman, John Carlos and Tommy Smith, Nelson Mandela, Nancy Hogshead-Makar, Lee Elder, Julius Irving, Jackie Joyner Kersee, Rachel and Jackie Robinson, Rich DeVos, Tom Satch Sanders, Colonel Lawrence Roberts (the father of Robin Roberts) and Dr. Roscoe Brown (representing the Tuskegee Airmen), Danny Wuerffel and Anita DeFrantz.

For more information about this event, contact Jennifer Schneider jschneider@bus.ucf.edu

2011 sponsors included Major League Baseball, NASCAR, the National Basketball Association, the National Football League, the Orlando Magic, Siemens Energy, Inc., Tavistock House, Inc., LarsonAllen LLP, Tavistock House, Inc., Tom Winters, MD, the University of Central Florida Athletic Association Inc., the University of Central Florida College of Business, ESPN Wide World of Sports, the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Village Inn Restaurants and the University of Central Florida Foundation.

John Carlos, 2010 Hall of Fame Inductee

Leave a Reply